Panthers’ Aleksander Barkov wins second Selke Trophy

Florida Panthers captain Aleksander Barkov is the 2024 Frank J. Selke Trophy winner. 


The Selke is awarded annually “to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game” and is selected by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.   


This is the second time Barkov has won the Selke, with his first coming back in 2021.


The 28-year-old had 80 points (23 goals, 57 assists) in 73 games this season with the Panthers — finishing the year a +33. He played a pivotal role at both ends of the ice during the regular season for the Panthers — centering the top line for the team with the best goal differential, goals against average and fewest goals conceded (tied with Winnipeg) in 2023-23.


First awarded in 1978, Barkov became just the 10th player in NHL history to win the Selke more than once. He is the only Panther in franchise history to win the award.


Barkov beat out Jordan Staal (Carolina) and Auston Matthews (Toronto), who were the other two finalists for Selke.


Barkov won by a landslide, accumulating 1,817 points and being first choice on 165 of the 194 ballots — placing top-five on 192 of those.


His teammate, Sam Reinhart, finished tied for fourth with 440 points and had 12 first-place votes, which was second most behind Barkov.


Staal was second with 539 points and Matthews finished third with 514.


The NHL Awards ceremony will be on June 27 from the Fontainebleau in Las Vegas. 

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *